Wednesday, January 18, 2012


Head coach Declan Kidney has confirmed the squad for the upcoming RBS 6 Nations Championship which gets underway in a few weeks' time.

The Ireland team management have today announced two squads ahead of the 2012 RBS 6 Nations and the upcoming O2 Ireland Wolfhounds game against England Saxons.

There are 24 players named in the Ireland senior squad, with six additional up-and-coming players named who will join the first week of Ireland camp in Limerick to train with the squad.

The 22-man O2 Ireland Wolfhounds squad includes several uncapped players as well as full internationals. The Ireland squad, from which the team to play Wales will be selected, will be announced on Monday, January 30 after the Wolfhounds game against the England Saxons.

Commenting on the announcement, Ireland head coach Declan Kidney said: "The Wolfhounds game gives myself and the other coaches one final chance to give games to players to see possible options before we settle on our matchday 22 for the opening game of the Championship.
"It also gives us the opportunity to have a closer look in training at some of the younger players, rather than bringing in more experienced players, who are very much still in the frame for selection.
"There have been some strong performances by players with the provinces going really well. It always gives the squad a good boost when we have teams with players playing well in Europe before we step back up into the international scene."
Talking about the start of the RBS 6 Nations, Kidney added: "It's a new tournament for us and for everybody involved, so irrespective of the highs and lows of the World Cup, it is a fresh and exciting challenge for us.
"The tournament begins what is big year for us, with a three Test tour to New Zealand to come in June and ranking points all important for the Rugby World Cup in 2015, but the Six Nations always stands out as high point."

IRELAND Training Squad (2012 RBS 6 Nations):

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)

Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)

Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)

Shane Jennings (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Sean O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)

Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)

Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)

Additional Players -

Ian Nagle (Cork Constitution/Munster) *

Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) *

Tiernan O'Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht) *

Paddy McAllister (Ballynahinch/Ulster)*

Andrew Conway (Blackrock College/Leinster) *

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) *

O2 IRELAND WOLFHOUNDS Squad (v England Saxons):

Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution/Munster) *

Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)

Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)

Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)

Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster)

David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) *

Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)

Ronan Loughney (Galwegians/Connacht) *

Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) *

Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Kevin McLaughlin (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)

Tomas O'Leary (Dolphin/Munster)

Eoin O'Malley (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *

Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster) *

Nevin Spence (Ballynahinch/Ulster) *

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)

Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster)

Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians/Connacht) *

No comments :

Post a Comment